Home » Uncategorized » Pimp my browser

Pimp my browser

Follow Me on Twitter!

I can’t believe I forgot to post about two significant improvements I made to my browsing experience last night. I guess it can be forgiven, though, since I went to bed early (11:00 pm vs 2:00 am) with an excruciating sinus headache.

While surfing Digg last night, I found an article titled “New Gmail Feature: Picasa integration.” Even though this turned out to be false, it did turn me on to how to bring about Picasa integration, color schemes, HTML editing, and customized layouts for Gmail using a Firefox extension called Gmail Skins. Sweet! This is what Gmail should have been all along.

I also installed the Wizz RSS News Reader extension because I simply have too many feeds that I want to keep up with. It was time to put them all in one location. Because Wizz is browser-based, like many other services I use, it’s more convenient for me to use. (I used my favorite blog for the screenshot to the right. Emma Sometimes is one of the wittiest writers I’ve found on the blogosphere, a heckofa designer, plus she has a cutie-patootie hubby.Think Erma Bombeck for the new millennium. )

Have I mentioned how much I love Pandora? No? Well, I should have. Pandora is a free online music service that suggests music based on your likes and dislikes. Pandora plays a song, and you tag it as thumbs-up or thumbs-down. It takes it from there and with a little training (very little training in my case) you have a custom radio station. I’ve discovered tons of “new” artists this way. Smartly, Pandora has a feature to save the artist and/or the song to a favorites list. Right now I’m listening to Talk Amongst Yourselves by Grand National, whom I discovered on Pandora. Couple Pandora with a music listening/purchasing service like Rhapsody, and you can check out the rest of an artist’s catalog, and buy it if you like it enough. (Tomorrow is payday and I’ll be purchasing Grand National’s Kicking the National Habit.) Good stuff!

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

