Home » Uncategorized » The State of the Internet

The State of the Internet

Follow Me on Twitter!

MySpace continues to have problems, and even JudysBook, my favorite review site, is down. The husband theorizes that MySpace took the entire Internet down with it. Of the two, I miss Judy’s Book far more, but my husband and teenage daughter are going through MySpace withdrawal. It’s not pretty. I invited them both to read yesterday’s blog and visit the competitors, but they resisted. They’d rather rend their clothing, tear their hair, gnash their teeth and ululate like rabid jackals. What is it about MySpace?

I continue to learn all kinds of interesting things on the FlyerTalk thread devoted to following the Lebanese/Israeli conflict , such as cultural traditions in the Middle East, world geography, a smattering of Hebrew, and best of all, a Hurricane/Disaster cookbook. I’ve lived in Gulf Coast states all of my life, and I’ve never seen something like this. I think it’s pretty ironic that I found it on a thread discussing events in the Middle East. (By the way, at the time of this writing, BEY and Dov are fine.)

On the Web 2.0 front, of interest to bloggers everywhere, Technorati has relaunched their site with a new design, and I understand, increased functionality, although I haven’t been able to check that out. I do like that as soon as I log in, posts from my favorite blogs are shown on the front page.

Also, a new video site has launched. Word in the blogosphere is that Gotuit’s video feeds are blazingly fast, so I had to go see for myself. They are fast – amazingly so – and the picture quality is impressive. Pickings are slim at the moment, but they are in beta. Of course, they have the requisite music videos, but what I was most interested in were the news selections. I hope that as they mature, there will be an increased product offering. I don’t see it as being a TV killer, now or later, but this technology definitely has the potential to make television manufacturers very unhappy.

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

