Home » Uncategorized » Why MySpace?

Why MySpace?

Follow Me on Twitter!

Disclaimer: The following is my opinion, and my opinion only. You listening, Tom?


Even though I’ve only got four or five posts to my name, I think it’s pretty clear that I love Web 2.0 apps – especially the social interaction and collaboration that they enable. What I don’t understand, though, is why MySpace is so popular. Honestly, every time I check in, it’s either veeeerrrrry slow to load, or it just doesn’t work at all. For the longest time (think months, closer to a year) they didn’t have IM functionality – even though they advertised that they did (if you clicked the link, you got a rather curt message that IM was “broke”.) When they did finally get the IM working, they didn’t even let anyone know (at least not any of my friends on MySpace.) And to add insult to injury, for the first week or so that IM was allegedly working, it wouldn’t. Oh sure, the app would launch…and just hang there. Unfortunately, this is par for the course with MySpace.

So why do people stay? I just don’t get it, especially when there are so many better alternatives. My current favorite is Tagworld, which actually works, has a better interface design, and frankly, a better feature set. Heck, even Orkut, Google’s answer to MySpace, is better, although it seems to have been abandoned. It’s not like we don’t have choices. There’s The Black Stripe, a social networking site that is based on who you know in real life, not who you meet online. There’s Yahoo! 360, OnMyCity, and Friendster. There’s communities for music lovers, aspiring film critics, and even for cats and dogs. What all of these apps have in common, aside from the social networking aspect, is that they all perform more reliably than MySpace. (And Dogster has cuter friends.) But getting MySpacers to leave is like pulling teeth, and without your friends at the other social sites, well, there’s not much point, is there?

I just don’t get it.

2 Comments

  1. Laura says:

    Hey D to the A to N to I! First of all, I did not even know other sites similar to Myspace existed. I have only heard of one other called FaceBook, which from what I understand is only for colleges and businesses..but I may be wrong about that as I have not checked it out for myself. MySpace sucks!! I myself dont know why it is so addicting. I originally got on it to “spy” on my kid and make sure she was being safe, but I quickly found myself sucked deep into the MySpace world. I absolutely hate it, but I cant seem to walk away from it. What the hell is wrong with me? The upside to the whole Myspace thing is that I have met people like you and Jay, who seem to be good, cool, and honest people! Of course the bad side was that I engaged in arguments and cat fights via blogs and I am deeply ashamed that I allowed myself to sink to such a low level..But- I learned my lesson and I am definitely done with that part. Now, I just pretty much keep to myself and really dont spend as much time on it as I once did, but again, I cant seem to just be done with it and walk away. We should open a Myspace Rehab Facility- I can see the $$$ rolling in already =). Watcha think? Anyway, thanks for the post and for the helpful information. Good Luck with the job search!!
    Peace and Love,
    Laura

  2. Anonymous says:

    Danielle,

    I wanted to thank you of the mention of our service. You have hit it on the head , wondering why is MySpace so popular when other sites Like OnMyCity is focusing on relative information.

    We hope to change how users interact with each other to enhance their city.

    What the online community has forgotten is the strength in numbers and how leveraging those numbers with positioning, should benefit them.

    So, unlike Myspace and others services, there is not a local economic impact in the cities where their members reside. Which explains why we have built OnMyCity as both a free and paid services that unify the city in which the members reside?

    With member support we empower and support business development in the city. With business development provides economic growth and revitalization back into the local cities.

    That’s our goal …thanks for letting others know about our efforts.

    Donnell
    http://dmcclendon.onmycity.com

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

